Skip to main content

Alumnus Award

This award is intended to recognize the exceptional achievements of an alum of the Graduate Program in Life Sciences or a graduate program that predated the creation of GPILS (e.g., Program in Physiology, etc.). The nominee’s degree must have been awarded no later than 2018.

The following items are required by the committee:

  • A nomination letter from a faculty member outlining the nominee's accomplishments
  • The candidate’s curriculum vitae
Dr. Brian Polster and Dr. Jessica Mong stand next to each other. They are holding Dr. Polster's Teacher of the Year Award

2023: Brian Polster, PhD - Program in Neuroscience

2021: Jessica Swartz, PhD - Program in Neuroscience

Photo of Hugo Tejeda, PhD in a blue polo shirt in front of a blue background

2020: Hugo Tejeda, PhD - Program in Neuroscience

Mary Kay Lobo, Donna Calu, and Yavin Shaham

2019: Donna Calu, PhD - Program in Neuroscience

2018: John Teijaro, PhD - Program in Molecular Microbiology and Immunology

lederer and schneider accepting on his behalf

2017: Benjamin Prosser, PhD - Program in Molecular Medicine (Accepting on his behalf are John Lederer, MD, PhD and Martin Schneider, PhD)

2016: Jaclyn Schwarz, PhD - Program in Neuroscience

2015: Quincy Samus, PhD - Program in Gerontology